• +971 4 568 73 85

New rules for e-visa to Russia starting from 2021

13 OCTOBER 2020, 10:25

Starting from 2021, the unified electronic visa will be introduced in Russia. Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin approved the list of states whose citizens will be able to obtain it. This list includes 52 countries, these are the states whose citizens could previously enter Russia on an e-visa as part of a pilot project. Qatar has not been included in the list, since a visa-free regime between our countries has been effective since 23 February 2020.

The pilot e-visa project was launched in 2017 and had several restrictions. Foreign citizens carrying such a visa could only cross the border through checkpoints in the Far Eastern Federal District, St-Petersburg, Leningrad Region, and Kaliningrad Region. Moreover, they could not leave these regions.

Now e-visas will be effective on the entire territory of Russia. The border will be crossed through any specially equipped checkpoint, regardless of the region, and travels will be allowed throughout the country. In addition, the period of stay of foreign citizens in Russia will be extended from 8 to 16 days.

E-visas will be issued via the Internet for tourist, business, humanitarian, and guest visits. No invitations, hotel reservations or any other documents confirming the purpose of the trip will be required to obtain an e-visa. The consular fee will amount at $40. Children under 6 years of age will receive e-visas free of charge.

The introduction of the unified e-visa in Russia will help develop tourism, increase the investment attractiveness of the regions, and contribute to the overall growth of the economy.


1. Austria

2. Andorra

3. Bahrain

4. Belgium

5. Bulgaria

6. China (including Taiwan)

7. Croatia

8. Cyprus

9. Czech Republic

10. Democratic People`s Republic of Korea

11. Denmark

12. Estonia

13. Finland

14. France

15. Germany

16. Greece

17. Hungary

18. India

19. Indonesia

20. Iran

21. Ireland

22. Iceland

23. Italy

24. Japan

25. Kuwait

26. Latvia

27. Lithuania

28. Liechtenstein

29. Luxembourg

30. Malaysia

31. Malta

32. Mexico

33. Monaco

34. Netherlands

35. North Macedonia

36. Norway

37. Oman

38. Philippines

39. Poland

40. Portugal

41. Romania

42. San Marino

43. Saudi Arabia

44. Serbia

45. Singapore

46. Slovakia

47. Slovenia

48. Spain

49. Sweden

50. Switzerland

51. Turkey

52. Vatican